Close

Rule Confusion?

Having trouble with Sighthound Video? Post here for help.

Moderator: Staff

no avatar
Paul
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 12:17 pm

Rule Confusion?

by Paul » Wed Oct 06, 2010 6:36 pm

Hi,

I've changed a rule from "All Objects" to "People" as I've found that the software is very good at picking up humans so I don't need to have all objects saved.

However I've noticed that when a rule is tagged as "People, Unknown" the viewer often says "tempoary video, not saved by a rule" and then other times will save it. Is it possible to make it save every video where it detects as "People", even if it detects "Unknown" at the same time? Have I missed a setting option somewhere?

I have the People only rule set to also Ignore objects smaller than 50px, is this confusing matters perhaps?

User avatar
ryan
 
Posts: 1015
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 2:52 pm
Location: Palo Alto, California

Re: Rule Confusion?

by ryan » Wed Oct 06, 2010 10:06 pm

Hi Paul,

Do you see this result when searching with the people only rule that you're saving, or when you search with the default 'all objects' rule that is selected when you go to the search view? I'm going to assume that it's the latter, and explain what is occurring.

Consider this timeline:
0s - nothing
5s - person enters the scene
10s - unknown enters the scene
15s - person leaves the scene
30s - unknown leaves the scene.

If your rule is to record people, part of the video is being tagged to be saved (the part with the person and surrounding padding), and part is not (part with an unknown). In this example 0-25s would be tagged, 25+ would not. If you search using the rule you have saving configure for, the clip it generates to display should be from 0-25 seconds, all of which is saved, so it won't prompt you. If, however, you search for all objects, one of the clips generated to be displayed would be from 0-40s. Since part of this clip is not in fact saved, we would prompt you that the clip isn't saved in case you want to export exactly what you see there. In your specific case, also clips with people under 50px wouldn't be flagged as saved, so if you did a general 'people' search rather than your custom 'big people' search, some clips tagged as people would also be marked as not saved.

Summary - if you search using the rule you have saving associated with, you shouldn't see this message (unless you just turned on the save response, in which case only new clips won't have the message). If you search using a different rule (one that doesn't have saving on), you shouldn't be too surprised to see this message.

Hope that helps, let me know if I was off base!
Learn more about Sighthound Video in our support pages - Reference Guide | All Articles
Are you a developer? Check out our cloud APIs - Demo | Docs

no avatar
Paul
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 12:17 pm

Re: Rule Confusion?

by Paul » Thu Oct 07, 2010 8:24 pm

Ahhh, yes, it's exactly as you described.

When I change the drop down to "People", the clip that had been flagged under "All Objects" as 'not saved' becomes a saved clip. Sorry about that, seems the confusion was me not VitD and I should have thought to change the drop down before posting.

Thanks again!

User avatar
ryan
 
Posts: 1015
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 2:52 pm
Location: Palo Alto, California

Re: Rule Confusion?

by ryan » Thu Oct 07, 2010 10:13 pm

It's a confusing issue, as evidenced by the require length of my response. It's definitely something we struggled with a lot from a design standpoint, but ultimately we decided to be aggressive with when we show the warning (any part of the clip isn't saved) to make sure people are never losing data they expect to have.
Learn more about Sighthound Video in our support pages - Reference Guide | All Articles
Are you a developer? Check out our cloud APIs - Demo | Docs


Return to Technical Support