Close

Program started once, then never again

Having trouble with Sighthound Video? Post here for help.

Moderator: Staff

no avatar
alz
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 10:18 pm

Program started once, then never again

by alz » Wed Nov 24, 2010 10:21 pm

I just installed Vit D on my Win7 64 system. It launched fine, found my webcam AOK. When I tried to restart it again fresh, it never launches. Or rather, it tries to launch (pop-up), then says there's a problem. The UI interface never pops up. However, task manager shows it running 4-5x, which I have to manually cancel.

Do any immediate solutions jump to mind?

no avatar
Joe
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:06 pm

Re: Program started once, then never again

by Joe » Wed Nov 24, 2010 11:48 pm

Make sure your Firewall is not blocking VDV from trying to access the internet on start-up.
I run Zone Alarm firewall and if I don't "allow" it permission to access internet when I start VDV (even when my internet is disconnected), it will fail to start like you said, but will keep on trying as shown by the VDV processes in task manager.
Hope it helps.
Joe.

no avatar
doug
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:24 pm

Re: Program started once, then never again

by doug » Thu Nov 25, 2010 3:47 pm

alz,

We did find a bug somewhat recently where that can happen if you launch Vitamin D Video with the computer's date set way into the future. That can sometimes prevent future launches of the program.

If you just want to start VDV from scratch, that is the easiest (and should fix things even if there is some other problem). You can do that by deleting the Vitamin D Video folder, which is located here:
- On Windows XP go to C:\Documents and Settings\<your user name>\Local Settings\Application Data\Vitamin D Video
- On Vista and Windows 7, go to C:\Users\<your user name>\AppData\Local\Vitamin D Video

If you want to just do the minimal change to workaround the bug, you can delete the "Gui Prefs.pkl". This file is located at the top level of the Vitamin D Video folder. You should lose only a small number of very minor preferences settings, i.e:

* The state of whether you wants boxes shown around objects in playback.
* Whether to show/hide the exit prompt
* You may be prompted to setup a camera again the first time you run (even if the cameras are already set up; that information won't be deleted).


Good luck! Hopefully that helps! If not, we can figure out what else to do to try to debug your problem.

-Doug


Return to Technical Support