-
Semper Vaporo
-
- Posts: 331
- Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 11:51 am
by Semper Vaporo » Sun Apr 03, 2016 1:00 pm
Like any program, Sighthound must be running for the program to do anything. "Hibernation" and "Sleep Mode" both turn off the CPU, thus Sighthound will no longer be running. Your Laptop computer should have a configuration app (part of windows Control Panel) that allows you to decide what happens when you close the lid. You must modify that setting to have the computer continue to run. The screen often automatically turns off when the lid closes, but whether the CPU is still powered and running is whatever you have the OS configured for.
"Hibernation" is where the OS creates a file on the HDD where it stores all of memory and then turns off the computer. When power is reapplied the OS recognizes that the file is present and reloads memory to the exact state it was when it shut down... as far as the programs that were running at the time, nothing happened except time advanced and they may have lost data that was being sent to it during the OFF time.
"Sleep mode" is similar, except power is kept applied to the Memory so it does not have to be saved someplace; everything else loses power (CPU, HDD(s), other Peripherals). Then when power is reapplied everything has been left in place and it picks up where it left off when power was killed to the rest of the computer. Not all computers have a "Sleep Mode".
"Sleep mode" comes back to life faster than "Hibernation" because there is no wait for the HDD to wake up and the file to be read back to memory. But if you lose primary power to the computer while in Sleep Mode, then all of memory is lost ALONG WITH ANY UNSAVED WORK! and when the computer is powered back up, it must start from a cold re-boot.
Semper Vaporo,