Close

Move video 'archive' to new computer

Having trouble with Sighthound Video? Post here for help.

Moderator: Staff

no avatar
aelver
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 3:57 pm

Move video 'archive' to new computer

by aelver » Thu Oct 30, 2014 5:41 am

Hello,

Is it possible to move the video storage 'archive' to a completely new computer?

* I have moved across rules, license, etc., but when I point my new installation at the copied 'archive', nothing shows up in my search index. Is there a rebuild index or something else required, or does it just take time?

Thanks.

User avatar
Devin
 
Posts: 719
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 5:48 pm

Re: Move video 'archive' to new computer

by Devin » Mon Nov 03, 2014 8:43 pm

Hi aelver,

We don't have an officially supported migration method between machines at the moment. It *is* possible, but would require some manual interaction and errors may cause data loss that we cannot assist in recovering, so please back up any critical data first. Note that any data gathered already on the new computer will need to be removed, there is not a way to merge.

If you would like to try:

1) Ensure that Sighthound Video, nor any "Sighthound ______" processes are running.

2) If you have a data directory already on the new PC delete it. The path to the data directory can be found here: https://www.sighthound.com/support/wher ... store-data

3) Copy the data directory from your old computer to the location on your new computer

4) Inside the data directory is a file called "backEndPrefs". There are two file paths inside this near the terms "videoDir" and "dataDir". "dataDir" should be pointing to the videos folder inside of the data directory, but likely needs to be updated if your username is different. "videoDir" should be pointing to the root directory of where videos exist.

5) At this point you should be able to launch Sighthound and see your old data. If you made an error with changing videoDir, you should be prompted to locate the "archive" folder (inside the video dir) and operation will resume normally after that. If you made an error with the dataDir however, the app will silently rebuild new databases and old information will be lost (old videos removed as well).

Regards,

-Devin


Return to Technical Support