Hi Stephan,
The files in the Sighthound Video data directory aren't intended to be interacted with by users to prevent data loss or unintended consequences, so we likely won't be making any changes to encourage people to poke at them more.
Sighthound Video records *all* video for the amount of time specified in the options/preferences dialog. After that point video is deleted, keeping only those bits which matched rules with a "Save" response.
Files on disk don't necessarily correlate to clips displayed in the app. Imagine that you have a rule for objects loitering in the scene, and for objects crossing a boundary, and one for objects entering or exiting. These searches likely all share certain portions of the video, to conserve space we are not duplicating this to make 'file accessible' clips for each. The application can automatically locate and display the correct segments of video.
If you want to export a clip from the application for external viewing or saving, right click it and choose "Export". Additionally, if you want a backup outside of Sighthound Video's disk management of all clips matching a rule, in paid versions of the application you can use the FTP or the
local export response.
More details on how video management works can be found here:
http://www.sighthound.com/support/managing-your-videoHope that helps,
- ryan